Page, Gornisiewicz Earn NESCAC Women's Cross Country All-Conference Awards

Sabrina Gornisiewicz
Danielle Page

MEDFORD – With their second- and third-place finishes at the conference championship race respectively last Saturday, sophomore Danielle Page and senior Sabrina Gornisiewicz of the Tufts University women's cross country team earned New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) All-Conference first team honors announced today.

The top seven finishers from the NESCAC Championship receive the first team accolade. A seven-member All-Conference second team was also selected. The 2019 championship was hosted by Williams College at Mount Greylock High School on November 2.

Page was second at the race with a 21:46.1 time across six kilometers and Gornisiewicz was right behind her in third place with a 22:07.6 mark.  Gornisiewicz, a senior competing in her first season, also earned NESCAC Rookie of the Year honor for being the top finishers among first-year competitors. A total of 145 runners finished the race.

Behind these All-Conference performances head coach Kristen Morwick's Tufts team finished as the runner-up out of 11 teams at the NESCAC race. This was their best showing since back-to-back second-place efforts in 2015 and 2016.

It's the fourth time in the last five years that Tufts has had two runners earn All-Conference first team honors. Natalie Bettez and Brittany Bowman were on the 2016 and 2017 first teams, while Kelley Fahey and Audrey Gould shared the honor in 2015. The Rookie of the Year honor for Gornisiewicz is the first time Tufts has received that award since 2012 when Audrey Gould was recognized.

Conference champion Williams College was the only other team to have two runners achieve All-Conference accolades.

Page, who was injured in the latter half of last season, and Gornisiewicz are competing in the championship season for Tufts for the first time. The Jumbos are idle this Saturday, but will compete at the NCAA Regional Championship at Bowdoin College on November 16.

> 2019 NESCAC All-Conference Cross Country Teams