Tufts Women's Swimming and Diving Defeats Wheaton 182-111 on Saturday

NORTON – Tufts women's swimming and diving won 11 events, helping them pull away from Wheaton College by a margin of 182-111 on Saturday afternoon. The meet marked Tufts' return to action after the semester break and their winter training trip to Florida.

Brown placed first in the 100 yard breastroke

Tufts first-year Jeanette Khowong had a great day as she finished first in the 100 backstroke (59.43), was a member of the first-place 200 medley relay, and touched second in the 100 butterfly (59.90). Senior Colleen Doolan also picked up a first-place finish in the 100 freestyle (55.49), and two second-place marks in the 200 freestyle (1:58.90) and in the 200 yard medley (1:52.23).

The Jumbos started the afternoon by competing in the 200 medley relay and had foursome place first and second. Khowong, sophomores Lily Kurtz and Sasha Fong, and first-year Hannah Spencer clocked a 1:49.14 to win. Doolan, sophomore Abby Claus, junior Kate Brown, and first-year Devina Bhalla finished right behind them for second place with a time of 1:52.23.

The brown and blue also got first-place finishes from sophomores Sook-Hee Evans in the 1,650 freestyle (18:16.40), Amber Chong in one-meter diving (288.60) and Amy Socha in the 100 butterfly (59.59). Also winning were first-years Emma Donchi in the 200 backstroke (2:11.56), Juliette Bichon in the 200 breaststroke (2:33.74), Claus in the 200 butterfly (2:09.07), Brown in the 100 breaststroke (1:09.15) and Fong in the 50 freestyle (25.48).

Juniors Grace Goetcheus in the 100 breaststroke (1:09.60) and Hannah Truslow in the 200 backstroke (2:14.80), sophomore Rhys Empey in the 1,650 freestyle (18:44.34), and first-year Mary Hufziger in the 500 freestyle (5:17.68) also finished second in their respective events.

Tufts will next be in action tomorrow when they host Boston College at 12 pm. It will be the Jumbos' Seniors Day celebration, with Doolan, Ailish Dougherty, Jess Fan, Tessa Garces, Alex Good, Christie Hug, Madeline Lee, Caroline McCormick and Sydney Nasson being recognized. Wheaton competes again on February 2 at WPI.


Written By Athletic Communications Intern Bryan Costello