Men's Squash Wins Chaffee Cup at CSA Team Championships Sunday

Braden Chiulli won in the first position for the Jumbos on Sunday

NEW HAVEN, Conn. – The Tufts men's squash team topped Connecticut College on Sunday afternoon, 5-4, to win the Chaffee Cup at the College Squash Association Team Nationals at Yale University.  The Jumbos were 3-0 on the weekend in the Chaffee Cup play, opening with a win over Lehigh and topping NYU yesterday.

With the win the Jumbos finish their season with a 14-9 record.  The 14 wins is the most for the team in program history, dating back to 1999.   During the 2009-10 season the Jumbos finished 12-12.  The win for the Jumbos is the second over the Camels this year and avenges a loss to the Camels suffered in the NESCAC Tournament.

Sophomore Braden Chiulli closed out his second semester at the number one spot with a win over Brendan McClintick, 11-7, 11-4, 12-10. Rookie Alan Litman picked up a three game win over Matthew Lillie in the number two position, 11-5, 12-10, 11-8.  In the third position, classmate Cameron Ewan needed just three games to top Daniel Reisman, 14-12, 11-8, 11-7.  

In the sixth position, freshman Brett Raskopf had to games go to extra points but needed just three games to top Santiago Moran, 11-6, 13-11, 12-10. The last win for the Jumbos came at the seventh position as sophomore Sandeep Rishi downed Alex Apkin, 11-7, 11-7, 11-2.

In the fourth position, freshman Aidan Porges won the first game in extra points but then fell to John Dunham, 12-14, 11-9, 11-6, 11-6. Rookie Imran Trehan won a game in the fifth position, but wasn't able to top Niccolo Premutico, 11-9, 8-11, 11-9, 12-10.  In the eighth position, Louis Feingold topped Jumbo sophomore Alec Goodrich.  Rounding out the Jumbos lineup was freshman Matt Memmo, who took the first game to extra points and won the second but he wasn't able to top Rafael Gamba, 15-13, 8-11, 11-5, 11-7.

The win finishes the season for the Jumbos team, as the only competition remaining in the season is the College Squash Association's Individual Championships.