Field Hockey Receives Zag / NFHCA Team and Individual Academic Honors

MEDFORD – The National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) has announced its 2018 Zag Field Hockey / NFHCA Division III National Academic Squad and National Academic Team Award recipients. Head coach Tina Mattera's Tufts program has earned both accolades.

The Division III National Academic Squad program honors student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative grade-point average of 3.3 or higher through the first semester of the 2018-19 academic year. The National Academic Team Award recognizes programs that earned a team grade-point average of 3.0 or higher during the fall semester of the 2018-19 school year.

Fifteen Jumbos achieved the individual honor as Claire Foley, Brigid Gliwa, Rachel Hamilton, Beth Krikorian, Hanaa Malik, Emily Polinski, Gillian Roeca, Marguerite Salamone, Sophie Schoeni, Fallon Shaughnessy, Andie Stallman, Julia Todesco, Claire Trilling, Gigi Tutoni and Marin Waddington were recognized. Seniors Malik, Polinski, Shaughnessy, Trilling and Tutoni earned the honor in all four years of their collegiate careers.

Tufts is one of 131 programs that garnered the 2018 Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Division III National Academic Team Award.

Two Division III academic awards remain to be announced — the Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA Scholars of Distinction on March 27 and the Zag Field Hockey/NFHCA National Scholar-Athlete on April 3.