Women's Crew Team Opens Season at Hadley Chase on Saturday

Senior Emma Conroy and the Jumbos opened their 2017-18 season

HADLEY, MA - This year's Hadley Chase was much bigger than in years past, giving the Tufts women's crew team much more competition and a great day for racing in its season-opener on Saturday. This was a five-kilometer course on the Connecticut River with a few bends in it, helping many crews prepare for next week's Head of the Charles Regatta.

Tufts started out the day with a few singles. Sera Busse ('18), Erika Madrian ('19) and Julia Turner ('20) all raced in the collegiate women's single event.

Tufts women had three doubles entered in the women's collegiate double category. The fastest double of Erika Odmark ('19) and Arielle Mann ('18) placed sixth with a time of 21:42. Laurel Haeger ('20) and Grace Fabrycky ('20) raced in this category as well as the combo of Alina McIntyre ('19) and Kathryn Luhrman ('20).

Unique to this week's race is the event of Women's 3x. The Tufts 3x made up of Jiana Schnabel ('20) Risa Williams ('20) and Sidney Tanioka ('20) came in behind UMass on Saturday.

The Jumbo women's 4 composed of Emma Conroy ('18), Libby Lichter ('19), Camden Myles ('20), and Prairie Hammer ('20) went uncontested in their category with a time of 20:47.

The Jumbos had two novice women's 8+ out on the water today. The first boat placed second with a time of 19:34. This boat was driven down the course by Eden Miller ('21). The rowers included Polly Harrington ('21), Eva Elder ('21), Erin Dwyer ('21), Sophia Carroll ('21), Lauren Drohosky ('19), Gillian Mehigan ('21), Nina Pittas ('21), and Sophie Bredenkamp ('21). The second women's novice 8+ placed fourth. This boat included Nina Benitez ('21), Paige Brand ('21), Grace Duisberg ('21), Abby Henne ('21), Emma Worple ('21), Katie DeMario ('21), Danielle Kaden ('21), Courtney Zang ('21) and Leslie Spencer ('21).

For afternoon racing the Tufts women's team had strong showings in both the collegiate women's quad and the varsity 8s. The quads took third and fifth in a field of nine. The first boat was made of Arielle Mann ('18), Erika Madrian ('19), Julia Turner ('20), and Erika Odmark ('19), who finished with a time of 20:27. The second quad finished with a time of 21:38 and was made up of Madeleine Clarke ('20), Leslie Spencer ('21), Alina McIntyre ('19), and Kathryn Luhrman ('20).

The two varsity 8s came down the course with a 19:02 in the first boat and 20:31 in the second. The first boat was made up of Jill Armenia ('20), Emma Conroy ('18), Eva Elder ('21), Polly Harrington ('21), Camden Myles ('20), Prairie Hammer ('20), Grace Fabrycky ('20), Erin Dwyer ('21), and Libby Lichter ('19). The second varsity 8 was coxed by Eden Miller ('21) and rowed by Jiana Schnabel ('20), Gillian Mehigan ('21), Miriam Weiss ('19), Sophia Carroll ('21), Lauren Drohosky ('19), Laurel Haeger ('20), Nina Pittas ('21), and Sophie Bredenkamp ('21).