Men's Cross Country and Six Jumbos Earn USTFCCCA All-Academic Honors

MEDFORD, Mass. – The United States Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced their 2017 NCAA DIII Cross Country team and individual All-Academic awards. The Tufts University men's cross country team earned the honor, as well as six Jumbos who received the award as individuals.

As for the six Jumbo individuals who received the recognition, Andrew Doherty Munro, Dylan Jones, Patrick Nero, Colin Raposo, Christian Swenson, and Hiroto Watanabe, they must have a cumulative GPA of at least 3.30 and finish in the top 25 percent of their respective regional championship meet.For a team to be considered for the honor, it must have competed and compiled a team score at an NCAA Regional and have a minimum cumulative GPA of a 3.10 on a 4.0 scale. Coach Joel Williams' Jumbos finished with a 3.44 team GPA.

This is the third time Swenson has earned the honor, having received it his first two seasons as well. It is Jones' second time earning the award as he was named an All-Academic individual for the first time last season. Doherty Munro, Nero, Raposo, and Watanabe are all being recognized for the first time in their Jumbo careers.

North Central (Ill.) was named the NCAA DIII Men's Scholar Team of the Year for the second year in a row and the third time in four years. Darin Lau of UW-Eau Claire was named the Men's Scholar Athlete of the Year with a 3.81 GPA.

> USTFCCCA Individual Academic Honors

> USTFCCCA Team Academic Awards