Men's Lacrosse Earns 10th NCAA Berth, Will Host Keene State on Wednesday

MEDFORD - NCAA Division III Men's Lacrosse Championship action will return to Bello Field on Wednesday (May 10) when Tufts University hosts Keene State College in a second-round game.

On Sunday night, the Jumbos earned their 10th NCAA Tournament berth and ninth in a row. Head coach Casey D'Annolfo's team received an at-large invitation into the 2017 tournament and enters Wednesday's game with a 12-5 record. Keene State (14-3) earned an automatic berth after winning their fourth consecutive Little East Conference (LEC) championship.

> 2017 NCAA DIII Men's Lacrosse Championship Bracket

> Tufts University Men's Lacrosse Website > Keene State College Men's Lacrosse Website

Game time on Wednesday will be 4:00 p.m. Tickets will be $7 for adults and $4 for students and senior citizens and will go on sale starting at 3:00 p.m.

The winner of Wednesday's game between the Jumbos and the Owls will play either Wesleyan (17-1) or New England College (13-5) in the third round on Saturday (May 13). Bates (14-1), Plattsburgh State (12-5), Amherst (12-4) and Springfield (12-4) are also in the Jumbos' quadrant of the bracket.

Tufts and Keene State have already met this season with the Jumbos taking a 24-16 win over the Owls at Bello on March 8. The game featured a combined 40 goals and 20 penalties. Sophomore Henry Hollen had 24 face-off wins and 15 different Jumbos scored goals, with senior Michael Mattson and sophomore John Cordrey both tallying three times. Keene was led by a game-high five goals from senior Rob Hart.

Tufts has won 18 straight NCAA Tournament games at Bello Field dating back to the 2009 season. Last year they played all four rounds at Bello leading up to the NCAA Championship Game. The Jumbos have a 26-6 mark in NCAA play with three national titles (2015, 2014, 2010), two finals appearances (2016, 2011) and a semi-final finish (2012).

The Jumbos finished fifth in NESCAC this season with a 6-4 record. They won their quarterfinal game in the conference championship tournament at Bowdoin College 12-11 on April 29. In the semi-finals on Saturday, the Jumbos fell 17-12 to eventual conference champion Wesleyan. During the regular-season, Tufts also won games against NCAA qualifiers Stevenson (16-13) and Endicott (18-10).

The Owls won the LEC for the eighth time overall with a 28-11 home victory against UMass Boston on Saturday afternoon. Making their ninth NCAA appearance, Keene has a 2-7 record in national tournament games.

The championship provides for a 34-team tournament. Automatic qualification (AQ) was granted to 24 conference champions. Three teams are selected from true independents and schools from conferences that do not have an automatic bid for their champions. The remaining seven teams, including Tufts, were selected from those teams in conferences with automatic bids that did not win their conference’s AQ.

Two first-round games will be held on Tuesday (May 9) with the winners advancing to play in the second round on Wednesday.

Materials from used in this release