Murphy, Connelly & Broekmate on All-NESCAC Men's Lacrosse Teams

MEDFORD - Three members of the Tufts University men's lacrosse team were voted onto the 2017 New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) All-Conference teams announced on Thursday. Sophomore Danny Murphy is on the first team, while juniors Ben Connelly and Arend Broekmate earned second team nods.


Murphy is one of four attackmen voted to the conference's first team. In 14 games, he has totaled 46 goals and 32 assists for 78 points. He's second in the league scoring race despite missing two games due to an injury. In nine conference games, Murphy's 51 points on 28 goals and 23 assists are also second-best in the league. He had five goals and four assists for nine points in a win over Hamilton on April 9.

From his midfield position, Connelly has added 24 goals and 16 assists for 40 points to the Jumbos' league-leading offense (17.19 goals per game). He's been even more productive in NESCAC games, scoring 18 goals with nine assists for 27 points. Connelly tallied three goals in NESCAC games against both Middlebury and Bates.

A defenseman, Broekmate is tied for second in the league with 23 caused turnovers this spring. He had three each in conference games versus Middlebury and Hamilton. He's also been a contributor offensively with four goals and two assists, including a multi-point game with a goal and an assist versus Connecticut College. He's also averaging 2.25 groundballs per game.

Tufts, 12-4 overall, will play Wesleyan University in the conference semi-finals on Saturday at Bates College. The Jumbos finished fifth in the NESCAC standings for 2017 with a 6-4 mark.

> 2017 NESCAC Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams