Promising Men's Rowing Season Opens on the Malden River Saturday

Ashton Knight will row in the bow seat for the 1V8 in the season-opener

MEDFORD - The most highly-anticipated Tufts University men's rowing season in many years opens on Saturday at Malden River.

"We have our largest, strongest group yet, with a powerful wave of talented young athletes joining a solid core of upperclassmen," Tufts Director of Rowing Noel Wanner said. "The team work ethic has been strong all year from the top of the group to the bottom, and we are excited to see that hard work translated into racing speed."

The Jumbos will look to build on last year's overall team points championship at the National Invitational Rowing Championships by seeing some individual crews make the next step onto the medals podium this spring. The Jumbos were third among New England Small College Athletic Conference (NESCAC) teams last season and will face Amherst, Bates and Wesleyan as well as Middlebury and Williams during the regular season.

"The NESCAC league remains one of the toughest around, so our weekly racing in April should give us good preparation for the championship races in May," Wanner said. "The whole year builds towards those races, so we are looking to have our best race on the last day."

The Jumbos will open the racing season with a very full slate of competition. On Saturday (April 7) Williams College, Middlebury College, and the US Coast Guard Academy will travel to the Malden River to race on Tufts' two-boat course. This course provides exciting side-by-side racing for two boats at a time, passing right by crowds of spectators at the Shoemaker Boathouse. All three visiting schools are strong competitors, so it will be a great first test to kick off the season. Racing starts at 10:00 am.

> April 7 Racing Schedule

Tufts University Boatings for April 7

1v: James Grant '19, cox
Andrew MacMillen '18, stroke
Nick Hartman '19
Rich Gilland '19
Adrian Tanner '20
Tyler Hagedorn '18
Mats Edwards '20
Rick Boer '21
Ashton Knight '18

2v: Josh Kaltman '18
Ryan Bell '19 stroke
Rohail Rai '19
Harris Hardiman-Mostow '21
Jordan Bacher '20
Isaac Mudge '19
James Miller '19
Paul Gelhaus '20
Thomas Hendrickson '18

3v: Henry Fernandez '21
Peter Malinovsky '20
Ryan Magnuson '19
Mitch Koganski '20
Sam Agnew '20
Michael Thramann '20
Alec Whipple '19
Tamas Takata '19
Ross Hamilton '20

Novice: Nina Benites '21
Jack Telman '21
Charles Cornillie '21
Jack Fraser '21
John DiGiacomo '21
Colin Lata '21
August Fagerheim '20
Michael Eve '21
Michael Wrede '21