Swimming's Amanda Gottschalk Receives Tufts Athletics' Adrian M. Misic Prize for 2017

Amanda Gottschalk

MEDFORD - Amanda Gottschalk, a recent graduate of Tufts University and a four-year member of the Jumbo swimming team, was recently announced as the 2017 recipient of the Adrian M. Misic Prize presented by the Department of Athletics.

Established in 2011, the Adrian M. Misic Prize annually awards a student who demonstrates excellence athletically and academically and is active in work which helps improve the human condition. Nominated by her coach, Adam Hoyt, Gottschalk was selected from a strong field of senior student-athletes nominees who embody the spirit of former baseball team member, Adrian Misic.

A Dean’s List student every semester majoring in quantitative economics and psychology, a captain and honorable mention All-American member of the swim team and president of the Leonard Carmichael Society, Gottschalk fully embodies the spirit of the award created in honor of Adrian M. Misic.

"Amanda is extremely loyal and is a Jumbo through and through," Hoyt said. "I could write a 10-page recommendation about Amanda as I do believe there’s that much to say about her character, personality, and work ethic, but I think what’s most important to know about Amanda is that she’s extremely proud of Tufts, our team, our campus organizations, and our community."

Misic, a native of Malden who passed away in 2010 at the age of eight years-old following a courageous, multi-year fight with brain cancer, was adopted by the Tufts baseball team as part of the Friends of Jaclyn foundation in 2008. His impact on the baseball team was profound and many teams in the Athletics Department have since been inspired to participate in the Team Impact program and various other community service works over and above their work on the fields and in the classrooms.

Each year, coaches and other members of the Tufts community are encouraged to nominate a senior student-athletes for the Adrian M. Misic Prize. Nominees must demonstrate excellence in the classroom, on the field, and in pursuit of improving the human condition. Since expanding to be a an all-department award, past winners include:

- 2016: Cody McCallum (Baseball) and Caroline Ross (Women’s Lacrosse)
- 2015: Amanda Wachenfield (Women’s Swimming) and Colby Wilkinson (Football)
- 2014: Samantha Gann (Women’s Tennis) and Christian Sbily (Baseball)

Read the inspiration story about Adrian Misic and Jumbo baseball here.